Genesis 18:25-32 For lack of 10…

Genesis 18:25-32
25 That be far from thee to do after this manner, to slay the righteous with the wicked: and that the righteous should be as the wicked, that be far from thee: Shall not the Judge of all the earth do right?
26 And the LORD said, If I find in Sodom fifty righteous within the city, then I will spare all the place for their sakes.
27 And Abraham answered and said, Behold now, I have taken upon me to speak unto the LORD, which am but dust and ashes:
28 Peradventure there shall lack five of the fifty righteous: wilt thou destroy all the city for lack of five? And he said, If I find there forty and five, I will not destroy it.
29 And he spake unto him yet again, and said, Peradventure there shall be forty found there. And he said, I will not do it for forty’s sake.
30 And he said unto him, Oh let not the LORD be angry, and I will speak: Peradventure there shall thirty be found there. And he said, I will not do it, if I find thirty there.
31 And he said, Behold now, I have taken upon me to speak unto the LORD: Peradventure there shall be twenty found there. And he said, I will not destroy it for twenty’s sake.
32 And he said, Oh let not the LORD be angry, and I will speak yet but this once: Peradventure ten shall be found there. And he said, I will not destroy it for ten’s sake.
______________________
-Abraham, in an act of compassion rarely seen among God’s people in the modern world, pleads on behalf of Sodom and Gomorrah.  As a result of Abraham’s intercession, God agrees to spare the entirety of both cities if only 10 righteous people can be found.  We know how the story ends, with both Sodom and Gomorrah in ashes.  I know that God destroyed those cities because they were full of Sodomy and most likely other forms of wickedness, but the text also tells us that Sodom and Gomorrah was destroyed because the Lord couldn’t find 10 righteous people.  Remember that when you choose your side.
Leave a Reply

