Romans 6:21 – Giving Up Unfruitful Things

Romans 6:21
21 What fruit had ye then in those things whereof ye are now ashamed? for the end of those things is death.

-I’ve never been a morning person; I would sleep in to the last possible second and have unpleasant emotions towards anyone who tried to disturb my slumber.  Over the last few weeks I have been giving up more and more of my morning to make room for more important things- both temporal and spiritual.  I used to love sleeping in, I would brag about being able to stay in bed until Noon on a Saturday or something like that.  Now, I look back at that time and I no longer see it as something worthwhile; simply a waste of time.  I’m not sure if I could have seen it that way if I hadn’t given it up and then looked back objectively.  What takes up space in your life that you could afford to give up?  What could you sacrifice to make more time for God if only you were willing?  It may seem like something you can’t live without.  But if you can just lay it down you’ll look back and see that, whatever it was, it was shameful and unfruitful.

Leave a Reply

