Acts 27:22-25 – Whose I am, and whom I serve

Acts 27:22-25
22
And now I exhort you to be of good cheer: for there shall be no loss of any man’s life among you, but of the ship.
23 For there stood by me this night the angel of God, whose I am, and whom I serve,
24 Saying, Fear not, Paul; thou must be brought before Caesar: and, lo, God hath given thee all them that sail with thee.
25 Wherefore, sirs, be of good cheer: for I believe God, that it shall be even as it was told me.

-Paul found himself in the hands of men who would rather see him dead than risk him escaping and at the mercy of a terrible sea storm and yet he was still able to have assurance of safety.  His assurance was based in the two facts he shared with the other men: 1) He serves the Lord and 2) He belongs to the Lord.  The Bible teaches that we are bought with a price and so belong to the Lord. (1 Corinthians 6:19-20)  This is more than just a reminder that we cannot live any way we choose, it is also a reminder that the Lord has a personal interest in what happens to us.  In John 10:29 Jesus said, “My Father, which gave them me, is greater than all; and no man is able to pluck them out of my Father’s hand.”  In addition to no one being able to break God’s grip, no thing can either.  How do we know this?  It was Paul himself who shared this truth with us in Romans 8:38-39, “For I am persuaded, that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come, Nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

Leave a Reply

