Matthew 7:21-23 – Depart from me, ye that work iniquity.

Matthew 7:21-23
21
Not every one that saith unto me, Lord, Lord, shall enter into the kingdom of heaven; but he that doeth the will of my Father which is in heaven.
22 Many will say to me in that day, Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in thy name? and in thy name have cast out devils? and in thy name done many wonderful works?
23 And then will I profess unto them, I never knew you: depart from me, ye that work iniquity.
 
-This is a very striking section of scripture and one that should make even the most devout stop and consider.  What qualifies a person to enter into the Kingdom of God?  Is it calling Jesus Lord?  No, there are many in these verse who call Him Lord and yet they are condemned to Hell.  What about those who do great and mighty things such as prophesying and casting out devils?  No, Jesus calls these “workers of iniquity” just before passing judgment on them.  Certainly those who go and do in the name of Jesus will be granted entry, right?  No, Jesus tells these people He never knew them.  Who then can be saved?  Thankfully, Jesus gives us the answer right in verse 21, he that doeth the will of my Father which is in heaven.”  What is the will of the Father in Heaven?  “And this is the will of him that sent me, that everyone who sees the Son, and believes on him, may have everlasting life: and I will raise him up at the last day.” (John 6:40)
Leave a Reply

