Proverbs 30:8-9 – Just Enough

Proverbs 30:8-9
8
Remove far from me vanity and lies: give me neither poverty nor riches; feed me with food convenient for me:
9 Lest I be full, and deny thee, and say, Who is the Lord? or lest I be poor, and steal, and take the name of my God in vain.

-So prone to err is the human race, so quick to turn out of the way.  Agur wisely recognized this trait in himself when he prayed to the Lord for nothing more or less than just enough.  Just enough to live; any more and He would surely slip into sin out of pride, any less and would slip into sin out of necessity.  Jesus taught a similar prayer when He said, “give us day by day our daily bread.” (Luke 11:3)  Jesus didn’t ask for food enough for tomorrow or for a storehouse of food; only enough day to day.  What’s the lesson?  “Let your conversation be without covetousness; and be content with such things as ye have: for he hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee.” (Hebrews 13:5)

Leave a Reply

