Luke 7:44-50 – Thy Faith Hath Saved Thee

Luke 7:44-50
44
And he turned to the woman, and said unto Simon, Seest thou this woman? I entered into thine house, thou gavest me no water for my feet: but she hath washed my feet with tears, and wiped them with the hairs of her head.
45 Thou gavest me no kiss: but this woman since the time I came in hath not ceased to kiss my feet.
46 My head with oil thou didst not anoint: but this woman hath anointed my feet with ointment.
47 Wherefore I say unto thee, Her sins, which are many, are forgiven; for she loved much: but to whom little is forgiven, the same loveth little.
48 And he said unto her, Thy sins are forgiven.
49 And they that sat at meat with him began to say within themselves, Who is this that forgiveth sins also?
50 And he said to the woman, Thy faith hath saved thee; go in peace.

-Out of devotion to Jesus Christ this woman swallowed her pride and reservation and, in a very public display, offered the Lord her love, her tears, her oil, and her time.  Notice Jesus’ response; He made it clear to Simon that the woman is favored because of her loving actions, but He makes it clear to the woman that her faith has saved her.  Let us never forget this principle as we move through our own lives.  Loving acts of devotion have their place and can garner their own rewards, but only faith can lead to salvation.  “For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God: Not of works, lest any man should boast.” (Ephesians 2:8-9)

Leave a Reply

